top of page

“Promoting Excellence in Advocacy for Change and Empowerment”


The Wyoming Coalition Against Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault (WCADVSA) will present the P.E.A.C.E. Award annually in recognition of those who demonstrate excellence and initiative to serve and advance the rights of victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking. As peace is the antithesis of violence, the award stands for “Promoting Excellence in Advocacy for Change and Empowerment.” The award acknowledges the valuable role individuals and organizations play in the effort to end violence and empower victims in Wyoming. The P.E.A.C.E. Award also serves as a challenge for all to work collectively to improve life for those affected by violence in our communities and worldwide.


Categories for the P.E.A.C.E. Award are:

  • Outstanding Advocate – This award seeks to spotlight exemplary direct service domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking advocates who have gone the extra mile to promote the safety and welfare of victims and their families.  An outstanding advocate empowers victims in their journey to becoming survivors.


  • Leadership in Advocacy – This award recognizes visionary individuals and/or organizations who have dared to not only address issues of domestic violence, sexual assault and stalking but have actively dedicated themselves to finding innovative solutions and alternatives to interpersonal violence in our State. A leader in advocacy has served a minimum of five (5) years as a mentor or inspiration to others in their organization, community, or state-wide in service to victims and to ending interpersonal violence in Wyoming.


  • Leadership in Policy – This award recognizes local and state lawmakers, policymakers and elected officials who have improved Wyoming’s response to issues of domestic violence, sexual assault and stalking through enactment and/or implementation of policies or laws to uphold the rights of victims and/or to hold offenders accountable.


  • Partners in Advocacy - This award recognizes individuals and/or organizations who have worked as significant allies to improve services for victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking, to support local domestic violence/sexual assault programs, and have contributed to promoting prevention to end interpersonal violence in Wyoming.

  • Lifetime Contribution - This award highlights individuals whose lives have been dedicated to ending violence against women. Their sustained span of work (minimum of 10 years) will demonstrate a positive impact on individuals, organizations, or communities to address issues of interpersonal violence in Wyoming.

History of Award Recipients

1st Annual 2010 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients

Thomas Urbach – Outstanding Advocate

Senator John Hastert – Leadership in Advocacy


2nd Annual 2011 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients

Liz Baron – Outstanding Advocate

Representative Kathy Davison – Leadership in Advocacy

Colin Simpson – Leadership in Advocacy


3rd Annual 2012 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients

Suzan Pauling Campbell – Outstanding Advocate

Sheriff Ken Blackburn & the Big Horn County Sheriff’s Office – Leadership in Advocacy

Representative Bernadine Craft – Leadership in Policy

Rosemary Bratton – Lifetime Contribution

Mary Ann Clark – Lifetime Contribution

Leslie Hoffman – Lifetime Contribution

Thomas Jacobson – Lifetime Contribution

Kenna Klinker – Lifetime Contribution

Sharel Love – Lifetime Contribution

Carol Lowe – Lifetime Contribution

Patricia Luck – Lifetime Contribution

Margie McWilliams – Lifetime Contribution

Lisa Peterman – Lifetime Contribution

Diona Savoy-McDaniels – Lifetime Contribution

Kristine Thompson – Lifetime Contribution

Bonnie Young – Lifetime Contribution


4th Annual 2013 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients

Carla Thurin – Outstanding Advocate

Patricia Luck – Leadership in Advocacy

Susie Markus – Leadership in Advocacy


5th Annual 2014 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients

Linda McNeel – Outstanding Advocate

Peg Hall – Outstanding Advocate

Christie DeGrendele – Leadership in Advocacy

Max Maxfield – Leadership in Policy

Randi Losalo – Partners in Advocacy


6th Annual 2015 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients 

Ambia Pawluk – Outstanding Advocate

Marcie Bruegger – Leadership in Advocacy

Brett Johnson – Leadership in Policy

Linda Gesell – Partners in Advocacy

Carol Lowe – Lifetime Achievement

7th Annual 2016 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients 

Betty Greco-Brown – Outstanding Advocate

Robin Clover – Leadership in Advocacy

Cynthia Garhart – Partners in Advocacy

8th Annual 2017 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients 

Nicole Casey – Outstanding Advocate

Susan Carr – Partner in Community Advocacy

James Harper – Partner in System Advocacy

9th Annual 2018 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients 

Carol Bowers ~ Lifetime Contribution

Senator Liisa Anselmi-Dalton ~ Partners in Advocacy

Mandy Moffat ~  Outstanding Advocate

"The Gang of Six" ~ Leadership in Policy

Representative Eric Barlow                  Representative Bo Biteman

      Representative Debbie Bovee                Representative Cathy Connolly

   Representative Dan R. Kirkbride          Representative Charles Pelkey

10th Annual 2019 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients 

Jesse Barnes ~ Outstanding Advocate

Kathy Steward ~ Outstanding Advocate

Senator Affie Ellis ~ Leadership in Policy

Matt Gray ~ Leadership in Advocacy

Libby Thorson ~ Partners in Advocacy

Jennifer Zenor ~ Lifetime Contribution

11th Annual 2020 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients 

Chelsea Cortez - Outstanding Advocate

Linda Hawkins - Lifetime Contribution

Seth Klamann - Partnership in Advocacy

Colleene Murray - Lifetime Contribution

Honorable Curt Haws - Leadership in Policy

Mary Kay Stafford - Lifetime Contribution

12th Annual 2021 P.E.A.C.E. Award Recipients 

Debarah Bindl - Outstanding Advocate

Robin Clover - Lifetime Contribution

Katrina Harnisch - Leadership in Advocacy

Chesie Lee - Lifetime Contribution

Maria Oroz - Partners in Advocacy

Leisa Reiter - Partners in Advocacy

Starr Sonne - Lifetime Contribution

Sandy Stevens - Lifetime Contribution

Vanessa Weekly - Partners in Advocacy

13th Annual 2022 PEACE Award Recipients

Senator Bill Landen - Leadership in Policy

Michelle Powell - Leadership in Advocacy

Vicki Powell - Partners in Advocacy

Tiffany Eskelson-Maestas - Lifetime Contribution

bottom of page